Christmas Tree Recycle

Christmas Tree Disposal Sites

Idaho Falls, ID – Once again, the city’s Sanitation Division will assist residents with post-holiday cleanup efforts by offering Christmas tree disposal services.

Due to the procedure for handling garbage at the Bonneville County Transfer Station, discarded Christmas trees cannot be placed in with regular garbage. However, 17 collection sites throughout the city have been designated for Christmas tree disposal.

Residents have until Jan. 30 to dispose of trees in the designated locations. These sites are for city resident’s use only and not to be used by tree lots for disposal of trees not sold.

All ornaments and lights must be removed prior to discarding the trees as the trees will be chipped and turned into mulch.  The mulch will then be made available to residents next spring.

Tree Disposal Locations:

  1. Washburn & Michael (Reinhart Park)
  2. Grandview & Foote Drive
  3. Coachman & Broadway (behind car wash)
  4. Fremont Avenue (by recycling bin north of Science Center)
  5. Mound & W. Elva Street (Melaleuca Field parking lot)
  6. N. Water & Chestnut (NE corner)
  7. W. 13th & Placer
  8. 10th & Emerson
  9. 17th & Emerson
  10. S. Boulevard & Rogers Street
  11. Bennett & Waid
  12. Cleveland & Fanning (SW corner)
  13. Sunnyside Park (by Eastern Idaho Regional Medical Center – SE corner)
  14. South of 1st Street (west side of Meppen)
  15. Sykes & Davidson
  16. Ashment & 12th Street
  17. Russet & Lincoln

A link to the list of disposal locations is on the home page of the city’s website. For additional information about Christmas tree disposal or mulching, contact the Sanitation Department at (208) 612-8491.

Media Note: For more information or to schedule an interview with city staff, contact Public Information Officer, Kerry Hammon.


About Public Works:  The Public Works Department consists of six divisions. The Engineering Division provides Survey, Design and Project Management services to the rest of Public Works and other city divisions. The Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Division coordinates Mapping and Informational Services with other city divisions.  The Sanitation Division provides solid waste collection and disposal. The Sewer Division provides sanitary sewage collection and treatment for the city and areas in Bonneville County; and storm water collection and treatment for the city.  The Street Division maintains the streets, bridges, alleys, and public parking lots. The Water Division provides and distributes potable water.